Tuesday , April 23 2019

Home / Current Affairs / Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and SA assume charge as Non-Permanent Members of UN Security Council

Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and SA assume charge as Non-Permanent Members of UN Security Council


Five nations, namely, Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa assumed the charge as the Non-Permanent Members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

These five countries will hold a two-year term in the Council with effect from January 1, 2019. This will be the Dominican Republic’s first time on the Security Council. The other four countries have previously served on the body.

They will fill the seats vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands and Sweden on December 31, 2018, after serving two-year term on the 15-member Security Council.

The Netherlands occupied the seat during the course of 2017 in an unusual arrangement, sharing the seat with Italy.

Other 5 non-permanent members
The other five non-permanent members in the UN Council are Cote d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru and Poland.

United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

• Under the UN Charter, the UNSC has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

• The council is the only UN body that makes decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force.

• The 15-member Security Council has five Permanent Members - China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members.

• Each member of the Security Council has one vote.

Election of non-permanent members of UNSC

• The General Assembly elects the non-permanent members of the Security Council as stipulated by Chapter V, Article 23 of the Charter of the United Nations.

 The non-permanent seats are allocated according to a rotation pattern set by the Assembly back in 1963, to ensure a proportionate representation over time from the different parts of the world.

• The ten non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis:
- Five for African and Asian countries
- One for Eastern European countries
- Two for Latin American and Caribbean countries
- Two for Western European and other countries

• Every year, the General Assembly elects five non-permanent members.

• The non-permanent members are elected for two-year term.

• To be elected to the UN Security Council, a country must win support from two thirds of the UN General Assembly members, or 129 votes.

About priyanka sharma

Check Also

PM Modi to inaugurate Delhi metro Red Line extension to Ghaziabad; services begin Saturday

The extension of Delhi Metro’s Red Line will connect residents of Ghaziabad to with various …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *